GSM Phablets / Tablets testing

My time lately has been wasted by testing trying with every bit of phone/tablet knowledge I have to get some tablets to work properly on the US GSM network.  So far the AX1, the U55GT Talk 79 and the PiPo 3G tablets all work (Pipo is not a phablet only data).  But the C98A nor the .Talk 79 clone from Julong Technology work (I spoke too soon, the Talk 79 type clone works I just got it to work.)  I’ve tried every IMEI combination and setting in the world.  I just don’t think those companies included the antenna for the US GSM network.  That’s what Christian Troy tells me anyways.  I’m not too sure why a phablet maker wouldn’t just include all the popular antennas to pick up all the popular frequencies.

As phablets and 3G tablets become extremely affordable I would be very careful about buying them before they are fully tested in your market wherever that may be.

It’s sad though because the C98A is a great tablet.  Extremely affordable.  The non-IPS version we would sell for $214.99.  Which is great at that price just for the tablet part.  I know for a fact that even if we told customers that the 3G didn’t work and sold them without it, they would use that as a reason to return it.  So….we aren’t going to be carrying them.  Which makes me cry a little inside but I’ll get over it.

I have a post about a tablet to absolutely avoid.  Be on the lookout for it.

Leave a Reply

